Alive

No. 42 in Top 50 Bee Gees’ Songs 1966-72

By Barry & Maurice Gibb
Lead Vocal: Barry
Album: To Whom It May Concern 1972
Single A-side 1972


“I know I should be going somewhere, I just can’t arrive”

A subtler beast than this highly commercial song at first appears thanks largely to Barry’s carefully considered dynamic vocal range, beginning intimately hushed, confessional, and becoming an impassioned realisation during a ‘build’ which is almost stuttering in its urgency.  The chorus itself is then sustaining and cathartic.

Alive’s simple, humble message ‘I know that I’m alive’ recalls ‘now I know that the world is round’ from World although there is no hint of that song’s slightly ironic undercurrent.

Alive shows the Bee Gees’ songwriting prowess was as fit and well as ever during their ‘wilderness’ years.  Peel away the layers and maybe that’s exactly what the song is about.

No 41 Lamplight
No 43 I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You

Leave a Reply

