That Acker Bilk again…

Last week’s post on Stranger on the Shore inspired me to dig out my 1976 copy of The Golden Hour of Acker Bilk which I haven’t seen or heard for many years.

Whilst greater obscurities such as TV Themes by Cy Pane and his Orchestra and Peter and the Wolf (narrated by Paul Daneman) came to hand relatively easily, The Golden Hour remains lost in time (or in the darkest reaches of my loft).

Rummaging around online instead, I see the album does include Stranger on the Shore – in complete contradiction to what I said last week.  In fact ‘Stranger on the Shore’ is the first track and features prominently on the sleeve.

And ‘Feelings’, which I ‘remembered,’ isn’t there at all although it seemed to be just about mandatory on 70s compilations.

The pop covers are present and correct – ‘This Guy’s in Love with You’,’Without You’, ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ amongst them – though the LP is probably more biased to jazz age standards such as ‘Makin’ Whoopee’, ‘I’m an Old Cowhand’ and ‘The Folks Who Live on the Hill’

And it wasn’t the Acker Bilk logo which was perforated but the Golden Hour symbol.

So that’s me wrong at least three scores.

This moody blue shot formed the cover photo.

Embed from Getty Images
Leave a Reply

